Return to Hoy

Well my car is at the garage having it’s breaks serviced, and I’m stuck at home twiddling my thumbs till it’s ready. I got a couple of jobs on my list done, including ordering some more film for a trip to Ilkley Moor on Monday, so after having completed all these taxing tasks I decided to reward myself with a cup of tea and a biscuit and to make a new post on the blog.

One of my Christmas presents my parents bought me was a fantastic book written by Hugh Marwick. It was published in 1951 for County Books about Orkney, it’s a kind of travel guide come history book illustrated with maps and old photographs. It got me reminiscing about our fantastic holiday we had there this summer, and it brought back memories of the wet and windy day me, Helen and Alice decided to get the ferry to the Isle of Hoy and visit the lonely grave of Betty Corrigall and an ancient stone cut tomb called the Dwarfie Stane. The ferry boat we boarded at Houton was small and open to elements, and while Helen and Alice sheltered from the weather in the car I decided to film our progress across Scapa Flow with my 35mm Lomokino.

I always feel that music can really make a difference to the feel of a film, and I was really lucky that my friend Patrick who lives a few doors down the road from me (who also has a soft spot for wild places and many fond memories of Orkney) happens to be very good at composing some really creative music. Thankfully it didn’t take much arm twisting for him to create this incredible sound track for my little film.

Cheers

Graham

 

Leave a Reply

